Attorney General Alerts
ATTORNEY GENERAL ALERT: Don’t Test Your Luck over a Trophy BuckWed, Oct 30, 2019
Says, “hunt safely, responsibly and legally”
LITTLE ROCK – From deer to ducks, Arkansas is every outdoorsman’s paradise. According to Arkansas law, all hunters are required to carry a hunting license with them while they are hunting and must tag all harvested deer within 24 hours.
“I want every Arkansas hunter to enjoy themselves,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “But I also want them to hunt safely, responsibly, and legally. I am deeply grateful for the many Wildlife Officers who are committed to preserving the resources of The Natural State for future generations.”
Attorney General Rutledge urges hunters to follow all rules and regulations and to utilize the guidebooks and other resources provided by Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.
- Arkansas hunters and anglers 16 years or older are required to purchase a hunting or fishing license. A license can be purchased online through the Arkansas Game and Fish app, AGFC.com, over the phone at 501-223-6300, at participating sporting goods stores, nature centers or at Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Offices.
- Arkansas hunters and anglers can carry a digital copy of their hunting and fishing licenses using the Arkansas Game and Fish app. The digital copy may be carried on their phone as a screenshot of the license image or as an image saved in their phone’s files. They may also carry their license as a paper copy or even a reloadable plastic card to show proof of purchase.
- Arkansas hunters are required to check harvested deer within 24 hours, either by AG&FC’s app, AGFC.com, or by phone at 877-731-5627.
- Anyone born after 1968 must complete a hunter education course to hunt in Arkansas, which can be completed via instructor or online. Children under the age of 16 may hunt without hunter education as long as they are under the direct supervision of someone who is 21 years or older.
For more information on hunting safely and legally visit the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission at www.agfc.com.
Don’t Get Tricked During This Giving SeasonFri, Oct 25, 2019
Says, ‘be cautious and ask questions of those soliciting donations’
LITTLE ROCK –The giving season is right around the corner, and in preparation for the holidays, October 21 through October 25 is recognized as Charity Fraud Awareness Week. Unfortunately, con artists are constantly inventing new ways or recycling old scams to trick unsuspecting, generous Arkansans into giving their hard earned money to fake charities. Every Arkansan should be armed with tips to protect himself from scammers and know that his donations are going to organizations truly making a difference.
“Con artists and criminals will take advantage of every opportunity to use Arkansans’ generosity to funnel money into their sham charities,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “I urge all Arkansans to be cautious and ask questions of those soliciting donations to ensure donations go to those in need.”
Attorney General Rutledge released the following tips to help consumers verify an organization’s legitimacy before giving money:
- Ask questions before giving. Legitimate charities will be happy to answer questions and will not rush a donation.
- Ask for written information or research the organization online. A legitimate charity will send information that provides the organization’s mission and how the donation will be used, along with proof that the contribution is tax deductible.
- Call the charity directly. To avoid falling victim to sham solicitors, personally contact the charity before giving a donation online, to the person knocking at the front door or to a telephone solicitor to ensure it is not a scam.
- Never send cash. For security and tax records, make donations by check or credit card.
- Search the Arkansas Charities Database for more information on charities in Arkansas and Charity Navigator for more information on charities across the United States.
For more information and tips to avoid scams and other consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or email@example.com or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.
Take Back Vapes and Prescription Drugs at Statewide EventWed, Oct 16, 2019
LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas’s 18th Prescription Drug Take Back Day is scheduled for October 26 at various locations throughout the State. Arkansans are prescribed opioids at a rate of 62 pills per every man, woman and child in the State. With such an influx of pills, half of Arkansas teens report it is easy to obtain prescription drugs from their parents’ or grandparents’ medicine cabinets. New this year, e-cigarette devices and vape pens will be accepted. This statewide event has a goal to collect 30,000 pounds to emphasize the importance for Arkansans to safely dispose of old and unused prescription medications and e-cigarette devices while ensuring these drugs stay out of the hands of addicted Arkansans.
“We lose too many Arkansans to opioid addiction and too many teens are addicted to vaping,” said Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “Working with law enforcement officials, Arkansans can safely clear out old medications and trash dangerous vape products their kids are using.”
Rutledge released the following list of medications that will be accepted at these events across Arkansas:
- Opioids, such as OxyContin, Hydrocodone, Vicodin, etc.
- E-cigarette and vaping devices
- Stimulants, such as Adderall, Ritalin, Concerta, Dexedrine, etc.
- Depressants, such as Ativan, Xanax, Valium, etc.
- Other prescription medications
- Over-the-counter medicines
- Pet medicines
- Medicated ointments and lotions
- Liquid medicines in glass or leak-proof containers (up to 12 ounces)
- Medicine samples
Medications may be returned in the original bottle or in any other container for increased privacy.
Prescription Drug Take Back locations will be available 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, October 26. The National Prescription Drug Take Back Days are held twice a year, but to find event sites and year-round drop-off locations near you, visit ARTakeBack.org.
Properly destroying these medications also protects the environment. Medicines that are flushed or poured down the drain can end up polluting waters, which could contaminate food and water supplies. Wastewater treatment plants or septic systems may not remove many medicine compounds. Turning over these medications at Take Back Day events also reduces the risk of accidental poisonings by children, seniors or pets, as well as the danger of drug abuse.
ATTORNEY GENERAL ALERT: Get the Facts Straight Before You VapeThu, Oct 3, 2019
Says, ‘Just because the vaping industry says vapes are safer than cigarettes does not mean they are safe’
LITTLE ROCK – There is a lot of misinformation about e-cigarettes and vapes, but you should get the facts straight before you vape. Vaping is the act of inhaling a vapor, which is produced by an e-cigarette or similar device. The term “vaping” is used because e-cigarettes do not produce smoke as traditional cigarettes do, but rather an aerosol that consists of fine particles potentially containing varying amounts of toxic chemicals, which have been linked to cancer, as well as seizures, respiratory and heart diseases.
“In recent months, the rampant use of e-cigarettes among teens and preteens has hit a fever pitch with too many young people identified by medical experts as being harmed by inhaling these powerful chemicals,” said Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “Just because the vaping industry says vapes are safer than cigarettes does not mean they are safe. Through education, enforcement and consumer protection, we can help protect an entire generation from becoming addicted to nicotine.”
E-cigarettes are marketed as a safe alternative to cigarettes, but in reality they are not. Attorney General Rutledge has released the following facts about vaping to help parents protect their children.
- Many e-liquids used in vapes are as strong or stronger than cigarettes and can contain as much nicotine as an entire pack of cigarettes.
- Vapes can be easily disguised in clothing pockets, backpacks and purses; they can look like a USB drive or pen and some are even covered with cartoon character designs.
- Arkansas teenagers and children are twice as likely to start using e-cigarettes and vapes as compared to adults.
- Vape pods and e-liquids are sold in many different flavors including fruit, cinnamon, candy and crème.
- The average age of first time Arkansas users is 14 years old.
- In Arkansas, it is illegal to buy nicotine products, including vapes, online or through the mail.
Attorney General Rutledge will be hosting Youth Vaping Summits at Arkansas Children’s, Children’s Hall on October 7th starting at 9 a.m. and at Bentonville High School on October 9th starting at 2 p.m. The Summit will include discussions and panels from health care professionals, educators, law enforcement, concerned parents and representatives from the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office.
For more information or to attend one of the Youth Vaping Summits, call the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office at 800-482-8982 or visit ArkansasAG.gov.
Make Sure Your Personal Information Stays PersonalWed, Sep 18, 2019
Says, ‘scam artists are skilled at adapting quickly to using new practices to steal your personal identity’
LITTLE ROCK - Identity thieves continue to adapt their scam techniques to fill their pockets with the money of hardworking Arkansans. These criminals know that any personal information they are able to gather, the better, and they will resort to any means necessary to steal your information. They often do this by calling consumers while pretending to be a legitimate business.
“Unfortunately, scam artists are skilled at adapting quickly to using new practices to steal your personal identity,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “If you have any doubt, hang up the phone and find the company’s official phone number from a trusted source to verify the phone call.”
Attorney General Rutledge has compiled a list of precautionary tips to protect yourself:
- NEVER give away your personal information over the phone. Legitimate companies will have processes in place to protect personal information and will not request it by telephone.
- DO NOT trust the source even if it has some of your personal information. Scammers often use partial pieces of personal information in order to verify current personal information or gain personal information.
- NEVER verify your personal or banking If you verify your personal information to a scam artist, it can lead to identity theft.
- BE MINDFUL of scammers who spoof the caller I.D. The caller may appear to be from a trusted source and in reality, is a scam artist.
If you have been a victim of identity theft, close accounts that have been tampered with or fraudulently opened, and file a complaint with the FTC. For more information and tips to avoid scams and other consumer-related issues, contact the Attorney General’s Office at (800) 482-8982 or ArkansasAG.gov.
16 Apps Parents Should Know AboutThu, Sep 12, 2019
LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas parents across the State want what is best for their children. So many Arkansans benefit from technology, but at the Attorney General’s Office, we routinely hear about preteens and teenagers who are bullied or have started relationships with strangers online.
“Keeping Arkansas kids safe is a top priority,” said Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “Being informed, opening every app on your child’s phone and knowing who they are talking to are some of the best ways we can protect our kids from predators and online bullying.”
Attorney General Leslie Rutledge is alerting parents to 16 smartphone apps that may make children vulnerable to dangers online:
- Bumble – Bumble is a popular dating app that requires women to make the first contact. It is common for minors to use this app and falsify their age.
- Calculator% – Calculator% is one of several "vault" style apps that appears to be a harmless app, but is used to hide photos, videos, files and even browser history.
- Chatous – Chatous is a messaging app that allows users to chat and share images. This app makes it easy for predators to engage in age-inappropriate conversations with potential victims.
- Discord – Discord is a voice and text chat tool that allows gamers to communicate in real time. Users can chat, add friends one-on-one or in larger groups. This app discusses content geared towards adults, but allows users as young as 13.
- Grindr – Grindr is a dating app for LGBT adults, not children. The app gives users options to chat, share photos and meet with people based on a smartphone's GPS location.
- House Party – House Party is a group video chat app that allows users to communicate via live video chats and texts. There is no screening and the video is live. Users can also communicate with people they don't know.
- Live.Me – Live.Me allows users to livestream videos using geo-location to share the videos so other users can find the broadcaster’s exact location. Users can earn "coins" to "pay" minors for photos.
- Monkey – Monkey is an app that allows users as young as 12 to chat with people all over the world during a brief introductory call, then users are given the chance to add each other on Snapchat.
- TikTok – TikTok is a popular app among kids that is used to create and share short videos with limited privacy controls. Users are vulnerable to explicit content and cyberbullying.
- Tinder – Tinder is a dating app that allows users to "swipe right" to like someone and "swipe left" to pass. Users can falsify their age, share photos, messages, and meet.
- Tumblr – Tumblr is a blogging app and website that allows users as young as 13 to create an account. There are very few privacy settings and pornography is easy to find. Most posts are public and can't be made private. This app was removed from the Apple App Store in '18.
- Snapchat – Snapchat is a photo & video sharing app that promises users their photo or video will disappear even though it doesn't. Snapchat stories allow users to view content for up to 24 hours and share their location.
- WhatsApp – WhatsApp is a popular messaging app allowing users to text, send photos, make calls and leave voicemails worldwide.
- Whisper – Whisper is a social network that allows users to share secrets anonymously and it reveals the users’ location so strangers can meet.
- Yubo – Yubo is a social media app that allows users as young as 13 to create a profile, share their location, view other users’ profiles in their area and view livestreams. Substance use, profanity, racial slurs and scantily clad people are common.
- YouTube – YouTube is a video sharing app that may not be age appropriate for kids. Inappropriate content can be found using innocent search terms, but with parental controls this can be avoided.
For more information on smartphone, apps and internet safety, call the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office at 800-482-8982 or visit ArkansasAG.gov.