Public Safety

Law Enforcement

Attorney General Rutledge strives to support the State's law enforcement leaders by providing free training opportunities and resource materials and recognizing their dedicated service.

2020 Officer of the Year Awards

Friday, January 29, 2020
11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Benton Event Center

2018 Officers of the YearOutstanding law enforcement Officers of the Year will be recognized from each of the 75 counties in the state. Out of this amazing group, five regional winners and the statewide Officer of the Year will be honored.

Valor Tributes will also be presented to the families of fallen officers. This is rescheduled from the traditional date in October.


For more information, contact Rachel Ellis at 501-682-3645 or

Law Enforcement Summit

The 2020 law enforcement training October 6 focused on officer mental health and how first responders can take proactive and responsive steps to adaptively respond to chronic stress and trauma.

Check our trainings page for upcoming law enforcement trainings.

Law Enforcement Manual

The Ninth Edition of the Arkansas Law Enforcement Pocket Manual, which provides guidance to officers confronted with fundamental legal issues, is available to Arkansas officers.

The statutes and rules included are derived from current versions of the Arkansas Code Annotated and the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure. Additional information is based on current judicial interpretations of statutes and rules.

Arkansas law enforcement may obtain copies of the 2019 Arkansas Law Enforcement Manual by completing the short online form or emailing

Previous Officers of the Year

Attorney General Rutledge announced Washington County Sheriff’s Office Corporal Brett Thompson as 2019 Officer of the Year at the Law Enforcement Summit attended by a record 672 law enforcement personnel who heard from experts on issues including medical marijuana and eyewitness identification.

Regional Officers of the Year recognized during the luncheon included: St. Charles Police Chief Jamie Forbes, Guy Police Department Senior Corporal Steven Rayburn, Arkansas Game and Fish Commission K-9 Handler Corporal Gary Stell, and Arkansas State Police Corporal Robert Stewart.

A VALOR tribute was presented to the family of Stone County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant Michael Stephen.

Contact Us